The County Clerk in Midland County is the local registrar who records all birth certificates. In 1987 the legislature closed birth records to public inspection. Only a qualified applicant may get a copy of a birth certificate. A qualified applicant is a member of his or her immediate family either by blood or marriage or a legal representative (the person's attorney). The applicant for a birth certificate must provide identification such as a driver's license or some type of photo identification. As of 9/1/2015 the Texas Health and Safety Code Section 191.0031 states
the State registrar or a local registrar may not issue a certified copy of a record under this chapter to a person who has applied for the record by mail unless the person has provided notarized proof of indentity in accordance with rules adopted by the executive commissioner of the Health and Human Services Commission.
We can provide birth certificates from any county in Texas if you were born after 1926 in a hospital and all Midland County births that were registered. The cost for a certified copy of a birth certificate is $23.00 each. This fee must be paid by either money order or cashier's check if mailing in a request. Bring CASH ONLY if coming into the office, no currency larger than a $50.00 bill.
Birth Certificates are issued from 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.