- About the Division
- Contact Packet & Victim Form
- Crime Victim's Compensation Program
- Victim Resources
The Midland County District Attorney’s Victim Assistance Division educates crime victims about the criminal justice process and provides information about social service agencies that can best handle their particular needs. Services are available to victims of violent crimes such as assault, homicide, robbery, kidnapping and any other cases involving serious bodily injury and to the relatives of deceased victims.
Upon indictment of a felony case or acceptance of an applicable misdemeanor case by the District Attorney’s Office, the Victim Witness Liaison sends a contact packet to the crime victim. The packet contains an introduction letter, informational brochures, Victim Impact Statement for the victim to complete, and application for Crime Victim’s Compensation.
The Victim Witness Liaison offers assistance to help complete the Crime Victim’s Compensation application and Victim Impact Statement. The Victim Assistance Division provides a comfortable waiting area away from the courtroom and public where victims and their families may gather during the course of a trial. You may email the completed form back to Kara Welch.
Please remember, we cannot seek restitution for any loss if the listed forms are not returned. If a victim has any questions or concerns during the course of prosecution of their case, he or she should contact the prosecutor or the prosecutor’s assistant. If you have any questions concerning Crime Victim Services, please call Kara Welch at 432-688-4411.
The Crime Victim’s Compensation is a division of the Texas Attorney General’s Office created to help victims of violent crime in Texas. You may contact the Crime Victim’s Compensation Division by calling 1-800-983-9933 or 512-936-1200 or through their website.
Persons eligible to receive compensation include victims who suffer bodily injury, emotional harm or death as a result of violent crime. This includes:
- Costs that might be compensated include the following:
- Child care expenses to enable a victim, spouse, surviving spouse of a deceased victim or guardian to continue employment
- Funeral expenses
- Loss of earnings or support
- Mental health counseling
- One-time payment for help with relocation expenses and rental assistance for domestic violence victims
- Reasonable cost associated with crime scene cleanup
- Reasonable medical, prescription, and rehabilitation expenses
- Dependents and/or family members of those victims and people who legally or voluntarily assume expenses related to the crime
- Peace officers, firefighters, and other individuals whose employment includes the duty to protect the public
- U.S. residents who become victims of crime in Texas and Texas residents who become victims of crime in a state or country without a compensation program
Contact the Crime Victim’s Compensation Program for more information regarding the program including eligibility requirements, maximum recovery amounts, reporting the offense and filing an application.
Important: The Victim must file a claim for compensation with the Crime Victim’s Compensation Program within 3 years of the date of the crime if the crime occurred after September 1, 1997. If the crime occurred before September 1, 1997, the claim must be filed 1 year from date of the crime. Child victims filing an application have until their 21st birthday to file the claim.
Contact Phone Numbers & Resources in Midland County
Individuals may contact area resources for assistance and information. However, these resources are not affiliated with the Midland County District Attorney’s Office. View a list of area resources.